Home

Someone To Believe (rewrite of I Hope You Will)

June 11, 2012

Hi. This is a rewrite of the song I posted last week. I used some techniques from chapter 19 of Writing Better Lyrics by Pat Pattison. Overall, I tried to improve the rhythm structure and motion of the lyrics.

The song is a story about a young girl who grows up into womanhood. She is faced with adversity and must learn how to deal with it. It’s message is that we must all believe in ourselves, and in others. That we can help others by believing in them, just as we can help ourselves, by believing in ourselves.

Please let me know what you think of the new version of the song and it’s message.

Someone To Believe by Steve Mallis June, 2012

It seems a hundred years ago,
I saw you standing by the road
Washing off the mud between your toes
Now you’re stand completely grown,
Graceful as your life unfolds
All you need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will

Funny how the times they change
Nothing can remain the same
You were laughing wildly at yourself
But now your laughter’s changed to tears
So try to overcome your fears
All you need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will

There are people everwhere
Living deep down in despair
Longing for some friendly company
But if you lend a helping hand
It will help them understand
All they need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will
I know you can, I hope you will

Leave a Reply

