Home

Someone To Believe (Work In Progress)

June 14, 2012

I am really liking this new song I’m writing, called Someone To Believe. I’ve made a few minor changes since the first rewrite posted a few days ago.

The lines I’ve highlighted below, sound a little cliche, so I want to rework them a little bit. While I’m rewriting those lines I want to emphasize the message of the song. The message of the song is that people need to reach out to themselves and also they need to reach out to others.

I think after that I want to upload the song for people to listen to. To give you an idea of what it sounds like, it actually sounds a little like Tequila Sunrise by the Eagles, but only just a little. It may not be obvious when you 1st hear it. The song is well within my vocal range and I fingerpick it mostly with some light strumming.

Someone To Believe by Steve Mallis June, 2012

It seems a hundred years ago,

I saw you standing by the road

Washing off the mud between your toes

Now you stand completely grown,

Graceful as your life unfolds

All you need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

Funny how the times they change

Nothing can remain the same

You were laughing wildly at yourself

But now your laughter’s changed to tears

So try to overcome your fears

All you need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

There are people everwhere

Living their lives in despair

Longing for some friendly company

But if you lend a helping hand

It will help them understand

All they need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

I know you can, I hope you will

Leave a Reply

