Home

Someone To Believe (Work in Progress, cont.)

June 18, 2012

Came up with a good substitute line for “Graceful as your life unfolds.” Actually, I do like that line and hate to toss it, but I decided to replace it with “Trying to make it on your own.” I like this line in it’s place because it delineates an issue for the protagonist in the song. The issue is resolved by the refrain “All you need is someone to believe” as well as the chorus.

I’m still eyeing those two lines 

Now your laughter’s changed to tears, Try to overcome your fears

for replacement, but they do fit in with I’m trying to say.

 

Here are the lyrics as they stand right now:

Someone To Believe  by Steve Mallis June 2012

It seems a hundred years ago,

I saw you standing by the road

Washing off the mud between your toes

Now you stand completely grown,

Trying to make it on your own,

All you need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

 

Funny how the times they change

Nothing can remain the same

You were laughing wildly at yourself

But now your laughter’s changed to tears

So try to overcome your fears

All you need is someone to believe

 

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

 

There are people everywhere

Living their lives in despair

Longing for some friendly company

If you lend a helping hand

It will help them understand

All they need is someone to believe

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

I know you can, I hope you will   

Leave a Reply

