Home

Breaking Away With A John Lennon Tribute

July 8, 2012

Was just looking over one of my new songs, Reach Out To You. Overall, this is a pretty powerful song, and sounds great when played on piano. But the Break is a little weak. The break I currently have in there is:

Everybody’s has a story they won’t tell

Everybody’s got a secret no one told….

I don’t know, aside from some obvious tense problems, I think there’s a bigger problem. The song as a whole has 3 verses, each starting with a refrain of  “I’m gonna’ reach out…” One thing about the verses is they are all somewhat general and do not refer to a specific instance on anything.

I’m beginning to realize the break in this song would be a good opportunity to introduce a specific situation that would really give the song some grounding. To this end, I’m going to completely rewrite the break to be specific.

To this end, I am including a mini tribute to John Lennon in my break. This would be 4 lines that would remind people of all the wonderful music he contributed and what a powerful force he was in the Peace Movement in the 60’s and 70’s.  

I believe the mini tribute fits into the song because John reached out to people with his music and I am giving the listeners an example of someone who reached out to other people, someone most people can identify with.

Will be working on this, hopefully the next day or two.

 

Leave a Reply

