Home

One Tweak Is Worth A Million Words

July 8, 2012

 

Below are the lyrics to a song I wrote several years ago, called Our Love Will Last. This song is standing up with me and I still enjoy singing and playing it. But there is one tweak I recently made. I had been singing the 2nd verse as:

You build me up when I feel down

Make me laugh, turn me all around

Rock me when I start to cry

Softly sing me lullabies

I can’t live a million years

If I could I’d have no fear

Let the starlight dry your tears

Embraced within the love we share

But those last two lines seem kind of stilted. Then a few weeks ago I came up with a nice replacement couplet:

It’s like floating in the air

Suspended by the love we share

So verse 2 now becomes:

You build me up when I feel down

Make me laugh, turn me all around

Rock me when I start to cry

Softly sing me lullabies

I can’t live a million years

If I could I’d have no fear

It’s like floating in the air

Suspended by the love we share

Here’s the lyrics as I sing them now:

 

Our Love Will Last          © 2009, 2010 Steve Mallis

Verse 1

When I look into your eyes

Heartache fills me with desire

An explosion deep inside

Sets my soul on fire

 Your soft touch, your sweet caress

 You gently brush across my chest

 With your body next to mine

 We’ll be one until the end of time

Chorus

Our love will last for eternity

Our love will last thru the centuries

I’ll hold to you, you hold to me

Our love will last for eternity

Verse 2

You build me up when I feel down

Make me laugh, turn me all around

Rock me when I start to cry

Softly sing me lullabies

I can’t live a million years

If I could I’d have no fear

It’s like I’m floating in the air

Suspended by the love we share

Chorus           Our love will last for eternity….

Break

We’re reaching for the stars

We’re never, never, ever gonna reach too far

It doesn’t matter what they say

We’re gonna love each other anyway

Chorus           Our love will last for eternity….

 

Leave a Reply

